On 10th December 2021, Latvia acceded to the OPCAT and the treaty will come into force in the country on the 9th of January 2022. Latvia is the 91st state to join the OPCAT. Latvia had begun to prepare for the establishment of their National Preventative Mechanism in 2017 before signing in late 2021.

This means that Ireland is now one of only three EU countries who have yet to ratify the OPCAT, along with Slovakia and Belgium.

View the full list of ratifying countries here.